As a die-hard Giants fan I ask: Why Plaxico Burress did you bring a gun into a nightclub and how did you shoot yourself in the leg?
Is it me or isn't this insanely absurd and downright stupid. This guy is a professional athlete. Not only a professional but one of the most popular, talented, winning professionals today. Since Plax has signed with the Giants, him and Eli Manning have the most TDs for a QB/WR duo in the NFL. He scored the go-ahead touchdown to win the Super Bowl against the undefeated Patriots. He just got rewarded with a huge contract extension. And he just shot himself in the leg in a nightclub. One word: idiot.
The only thing I, or anyone, can say in his defense is that a high-profile athlete like himself needs protection. That doesn't mean that you have to carry a gun, you could have a body guard or two with you when you go out, and then can hold a gun to protect you. Fellow WR Steve Smith has just come out with a statement saying that he was robbed at gunpoint for all his money and jewelry a few weeks ago. This scare led other members of the team to up their security and protection but Plaxico was the only one dumb enough to carry a loaded gun with him for it.
Throughout all the distractions including the latest one by Burress, the Giants have still remained the top team in the NFL and have been very resilient. They've gotten it done without Plax before, and somehow are pulling off win after win, in blowout victories. I can only hope that they can fight through this one but I'm not 100 percent sure they can this time. Not only has Burress hurt himself but he's hurt the team and members of the team. He's brought linebacker and defensive captain Antonio Pierce into the mess, and that is someone the Giants can't win without. Third string RB Ahmad Bradshaw has also been asked for questioning involving the matter. Bringing other players into this will hurt the team. Bringing a ton of negative media attention to the team will hurt the team. Shooting yourself in the leg has not only hurt yourself, but it has hurt the team.
The Giants have suspended Plax for 4 games and put him on the non-football injury list, making him unavailable in the postseason. Fellow WRs Amani Toomer, Steve Smith, and Dominik Hixon will have to step up their production and make up for Burresses stupid mistake. In their last game without Plax (he was out due to a hamstring injury prior to the incident) Hixon and Toomer had big games in a 23-7 crushing of division foe Redskins. With Eli playing with a lot of confidence, the WR corps making plays, and the run game at the top of the NFL, the offense seems like they'll do fine without BurrASS. I don't know if this whole situation is enough to bring down such a great Giants team but I can see them using this as motivation to play even harder. They will be playing with a chip on their shoulder, with many pundits writing them off already, the G-Men will play to prove that they can fight through anything.